More on gaming

So I like Social Media but one company that I have been always critical about is Zynga. I hated getting Farmville notifications on my Facebook feed. But right after the Japan disaster, I read an article which made me change my mind about Zynga. Through their game, they raised $1.1 MM in a matter of 36 hours. AMAZING!

You can read my blog post here:

https://koonal.wordpress.com/2011/03/15/z1/

A couple of days ago, I read an article on “Angry Birds Rio” – the latest game in the Angry Birds franchise. It was downloaded 10 million times in 10 days.

Inspired by the article, I opened my old Angry Birds game to play it again and noticed that they had introduced an interesting monetization strategy. They now have an icon called “The Great Eagle” (or something like that). The Great Eagle can help you solve a level if you are stuck. To buy the services of the Great Eagle, it costs you a dollar.

I personally think that this is a great monetization strategy. We’ll have to wait and see how it plays out.

This entry was posted in Social Media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

